“The Website Previously Known as Legendary Pokémon.”

Legacy, News

Pokemon Video Game Championships 2010

by Arty2

Pokémon Video Game Championships logo

The basic rules for the 2010 Pokémon Video Game Championships have been announced [our emphasis]:

  • Players now using Pokémon HeartGold or SoulSilver Version games exclusively
  • Pokémon Level 51 and higher being automatically graded down to Level 50 for the duration of the battle using a new auto-leveling feature
    • Each Pokémon keeps all of the moves it knew before being adjusted
    • Pokémon that evolve after Level 50 don’t devolve
    • Any Pokémon below Level 50 will stay at its current level
  • Virtually every Pokémon found in the National Pokédex of Pokémon HeartGold and SoulSilver Versions is eligible, including Pokémon traded in from earlier games, with the following exceptions:
    • Arceus, Celebi, Darkrai, Deoxys, Jirachi, Manaphy, Mew, Phione, and Shaymin cannot participate
    • A team cannot contain more than two of Dialga, Giratina, Groudon, Ho-Oh, Kyogre, Lugia, Mewtwo, Palkia, and Rayquaza during a battle

Players will have to attend local tournaments in order to advance to the World Championships. Participating countries include: Japan, USA & Canada(?), Germany, Spain, Italy, France and the United Kingdom, where Nintendo acts as the direct distributor of their products. Detailed rules are to be announced.

Source: Pokemon.com

About the author


Heracles is an Athens-based architect and designer.
He founded LegendaryPKMN in 2001.